Flacco’s Flavorite Of The Week

Leave a comment

December 24, 2012 by Chris Slade

What a difference a week makes

I saw little to no hope from this squad this time last week

Here’s a quote from a blog entry that didn’t happen because I’m not paid to do this so I can choose not to finish something I started last Monday.

“For some reason, I wouldn’t write off the Ravens just yet. I know I watched the game. It’s tough to imagine a dramatic turnaround at this point but I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Anything can happen in this years nfl. There’s no one team that’s clearly above everyone else. Just when it looked like the patriots might be that team, the 49ers came to new England and won fairly convincingly. Something that never happens at foxborough.

Time is not on the Ravens side and they have little momentum going into this weeks matchup with the Giants. It will get ugly again if the good Giants show up. Butt. But, there’s something the Ravens can learn from the Giants, the defending champions. Don’t worry too much about these next two games, now that we’re in. Focus on getting healthy on defense and preparing a different looking offense for the playoffs. It’s all about getting hot at the right time.”

As you can tell I held out a faint glimmer of hope but with a not very likely attitude.

Let’s get back to that blog title.

Clever, I know. I should be hired by the New York Times to come up with their witty headline titles.

The Breakdown: Flacco is the flavor of the week this week because he put up a stellar performance throwing for 2 touchdowns, rushing for another, no picks or lost fumbles and over 300 passing yards.

He also loves his pizza hut

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUWDPSTUYc8

Like his poor acting, Flacco leaves a lot to be desired with his inconsistent performances this season, so this title that suggests he can’t sustain this weeks performance fits him well. We just don’t know if we’re going to see another great outing from Flacco and the offense next week at Cincinatti. Most likely we won’t because road flacco is a completely different animal. An animal with a 64.1 passer rating. An animal even the wringling brothers couldn’t tame. That’s a circus reference.

But, I’m proud of what I saw from the Ravens versus the Giants. They completely outclassed the G-men and ensured that we won’t see Eli and company morph into an elite football team overnight and make another “where the eff did this come from?” super bowl run. Seriously, it was cute back in ’08 when they knocked off the undefeated Patriots. Now, it’s just annoying.

What surprised me the most about this game and what has dramatically restored my confidence in this team was the outstanding defensive outing we all witnessed yesterday. Without Pollard, Lewis and McClain, the D was able to get consistent pressure on Eli and hold the Giants to just 186 total yards. Everyone looked like they’re on the same page out there. Everyone gave a tremendous effort. Sure we have some scrubs in there, but I sure couldn’t tell. Thats the ol’ next man up Raven mentality I love. It played out perfectly and I’m proud of the adjustments Dean Pees and the players have made on defense despite the constant personnel flux. The return of Pollard, Lewis, and McClain for the playoffs could finally give the Ravens an above average defense we’ve come to expect. That combined with an offensive unit that appeared to be clicking this week gives us optimism that the Ravens are not a flavor of the week and could be peaking at the right time. Like mentioned before we’ve seen the kind of run a team peaking at the right time can go on from last year’s Giants. Hopefully, the next team up on the list is this year’s Ravens. That’s all I want for Christmas.

Leave a comment